Bruce Rauner, Governor

DNR Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 IDNR Home
 Agency Offices
 Disabled Outdoors
 Freedom of Information Act
 Get Involved
 Grant Info
 License / Permit / Register
 Kids & Education
 Law Enforcement
 Mandatory Safety Programs
 Lodges / Leasing
 More Links
 Outdoor Recreation
 Parks & Recreation
 Press Releases
 State Museums
 World Shooting & Recreational Complex
 DNR A to Z




Wetland regulation is a complex topic. There are a myriad of laws designed to protect wetlands. There are also sometimes overlapping authorities given to different government entities. Some of these entities use slightly different wetland definitions. With so many laws, regulatory entities, and wetland definitions, determining who has jurisdiction over a specific wetland or activity and what procedures must be followed can be confusing. The following section attempts to explain the regulatory processes most individuals and organizations are likely to encounter.

Because land resources are limited and the demand being placed on them is always increasing, it is inevitable that some human activities will negatively affect wetlands. Recognizing the importance of wetlands, both federal and state governments have established regulatory measures to help protect these resources. As a result, if a proposed activity is likely to result in an adverse impact to a wetland, certain procedures must be followed.

There are essentially five government agencies with primary regulatory authority over wetlands in Illinois. These agencies work cooperatively with one another for the protection of these resources. Three Federal Agencies: the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE), The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA), and the United States Department of Agriculture/Natural Resources Conservation Service (USDA/NRCS) make up this list along with two state agencies: the Illinois Department of Natural Resources (IDNR) and the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA).

Each agency is granted specific wetland regulatory authorities through separate federal or state legislative acts. The USEPA receives its authority from the 1972 federal Water Pollution Control Act, also known as the Clean Water Act (CWA). The USACE receives its authority from Section 404 of the same act. The USDA/NRCS receives its authority from the National Food Security Act of 1985 (NFSA) and its subsequent amendments. IDNR receives most of its authority from the Interagency Wetlands Policy Act of 1989 (IWPA) and peripheral authority through the state's Rivers, Lakes, and Streams Act (RLSA). IEPA receives its authority from Section 401 of the CWA. Table 4-1 lists each regulatory agency and the sources of their authorities.

Table 4-1
Agency Source of Wetland Regulatory Authority
USACE Section 404 - Federal Clean Water Act
USDA/NRCS Swampbuster Provisions - National Food Securities Act
USEPA Section 404 - Federal Clean Water Act
IDNR Interagency Wetlands Policy Act of 1989
Rivers, Lakes, and Streams Act
IEPA Section 401 - Federal Clean Water Act

Wetland regulatory agencies and the sources of their authorities.

[ Introduction| Section 404 Program | Nationwide Permits & General Conditions | Section 401 Program |Critical Resource Waters | Swampbuster Prog.  | Interagency Wetlands Policy Act of 1989  |  Rivers, Lakes & Streams ActWetland Detmermination & Delineations| Conclusion ]

Return to Wetlands Home Page


 Wetlands Home Page
 Understanding Wetlands
 Functions and Values
 Status and History
 Wetland Committees
 Mitigation Banking
 Illinois Wetland Types
 National Wetland Inventory
 Glossary Acronyms
 Literature Cited

Copyrightę 2015 Department of Natural Resources
Accessibility    Contact    FAQs    Podcasts    Privacy    Social Networking